Bang!: The Complete History of the Universe

Bang!: The Complete History of the Universe

by Brian May (Author), Chris Lintott (Author), Brian May (Author), Chris Lintott (Author), Sir Patrick Moore (Author)


In 2006, rock legend and experienced amateur astronomer Brian May joined the legendary expert Sir Patrick Moore and astrophysicist Chris Lintott to tell the story of the Universe from the moment time and space came into existence at the Big Bang, through to the infinite future and the ultimate fate that awaits us. Following the spectacular success of the first two editions, they got together again to update the information and pictures in this accessible introduction to the history of the universe. Many of the pictures of the Universe obtained by instruments such as the Hubble Space Telescope or the Very Large Telescope in Chile are beautiful enough to be considered works of art in their own right. This book presents them in context, and uses extraordinary new artworks to explain the mind-blowing theories from the cutting edge of astronomy in a way that everyone can understand.


Save:$18.61 (85%)


1 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 200
Edition: Revised edition
Publisher: Carlton Books Ltd
Published: 03 Sep 2009

ISBN 10: 1847323367
ISBN 13: 9781847323361

Author Bio
Though best known as the lead guitarist for the supergroup Queen, Brian May also studied for a PhD in astrophysics before giving up the academic life for rock music. Patrick Moore is the world's best-loved astronomer, author of more than 100 books and presenter of the world's longest running TV programme, BBC's The Sky at Night . Chris Lintott is the co-presenter, with Patrick, of The Sky at Night . He took his first degree in Physics at Cambridge, then his PhD in Astrophysics at University College London, and is now doing further research at Oxford.