The Mammoth Book of on the Edge (Mammoth) (Mammoth Books)

The Mammoth Book of on the Edge (Mammoth) (Mammoth Books)

by JonE.Lewis (Editor)

Synopsis

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Anatoli Boukreev's The Climb, Jon E. Lewis takes the reader into the depleted zone of extreme mountaineering. Presenting first-hand accounts of climbs on the great peaks and 'big walls' of five continents, spanning an arc in time from the new alpinism of the 1930s to the present, On the Edge is a book about the furthest reaches of human daring and endurance. Among the accounts: Reinhold Messner's successful scaling of Nanga Parbat in 1970, only to lose his brother in an avalanche on the descent Maurice Herzog's unstoppable ascent of Annapurna at the cost of his frost-bitten fingers Sebastian Snow's peak-to-peak scaling of two Ecuadorean mountains Walter Bonatti's tragic attempt on Mont Blanc, leaving four of his seven-man party dead in the snow

$3.28

Save:$6.83 (68%)

Quantity

2 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 512
Publisher: Robinson
Published: 30 Nov 2001

ISBN 10: 1841192643
ISBN 13: 9781841192642
Book Overview: Near-death exploits on the world's greatest peaks

Author Bio
Jon E. Lewis is a historian and writer, whose books on history and military history are sold worldwide. He is also editor of many The Mammoth Book of anthologies, including the bestselling On the Edge and Endurance and Adventure. He holds graduate and postgraduate degrees in history. His work has appeared in New Statesman, the Independent, Time Out and the Guardian. He lives in Herefordshire with his partner and children. Praise for his previous books: England: The Autobiography: 'A triumph' Saul David, author of Victoria's Army The British Soldier: The Autobiography: 'this thoughtful compilation ... almost unbearably moving.' Guardian 'Compelling tommy's eye view of war.' Daily Telegraph 'What a book. Five stars.' Daily Express