Cat Among the Pigeons: 2 (Cat Royal)

Cat Among the Pigeons: 2 (Cat Royal)

by JuliaGolding (Author)

Synopsis

Julia Golding's award-winning adventure series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Katherine Woodfine and Robin Jarvis. I am Cat Royal - Orphan, Adventurer, Actress . . . 'The Drury Lane Theatre has been my home all the length of my life - but today I must leave it. Adventure calls! My new friend Pedro is in trouble and all the eyes of London are on us. So we must go into hiding, I must disguise myself, play a new role. This is my story . . .' Exciting, funny and packed with adventure . . . Cat Royal never fails to stir up trouble wherever she goes. Julia Golding's award-winning adventure series for girls has all the ingredients of a Philippa Gregory books for 9+ girls. Have you read all of Cat's extraordinary adventures? The Diamond of Drury Lane Cat Among the Pigeons Den of Thieves Cat O'Nine Tails Black Heart of Jamaica Cat's Cradle Look out for Julia's fantastic new historical titles: Mel Foster and the Demon Butler Mel Foster and the Time Machine Julia Golding is the author of the award-winning Cat Royal and Girl on the Run series. Julia Golding read English at Cambridge before completing a doctorate in Literature of the Romantic Period at Oxford. She has won the Nestle Children's Book Prize, the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize and been shortlisted for the Costa Children's Book Award.

$3.29

Save:$5.58 (63%)

Quantity

3 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 400
Edition: UK ed.
Publisher: Egmont
Published: 02 Aug 2010

ISBN 10: 1405237597
ISBN 13: 9781405237598
Children’s book age: 9-11 Years
Book Overview: As gripping as The Diamond of Drury Lane , this fabulous second volume from multi award-winning author Julia Golding sees Cat Royal storm a gentleman's club, jump aboard a slave ship and enter the heart of the shadiest part of London - blindfolded! In an attempt to save Pedro from his former slave master, Cat makes some enemies and finds she has the police on her tail...Cat is driven to flee the theatre and ends up going into hiding - in a boy's school. Then Cat's nemesis Billy Shepherd turns up...Prepare to be gripped from page one.

Media Reviews
'Pacy...A most engaging read' Books for Keeps; 'An eminently satisfying and delightful read' Sunday Tribune; 'Hugely enjoyable romp of a tale' School Librarian; 'A colourful, action-packed story' Publishing News - On Cat among the Pigeons: 'A highly enjoyable story full of adventure, likeable character and sharp, witty dialogue' Anti-slavery magazine. - On Den of Thieves: 'Rip-roaring saga...thoroughly entertaining...lively and absorbing' The Times Educational Supplement; 'This is rollicking historical fiction at its best, a great read' Sunday Express
Author Bio
Julia Golding read English at Cambridge then joined the Foreign Office and served in Poland. Her work as a diplomat took her from the high point of town twinning in the Tatra Mountains to the low of inspecting the bottom of a Silesian coal mine. On leaving Poland, she exchanged diplomacy for academia and took a doctorate in the literature of the English Romantic Period at Oxford. She then joined Oxfam as a lobbyist on conflict issues, campaigning at the UN and with governments to lessen the impact of conflict on civilians living in war zones. Married with three children, Julia now lives in Oxford. The Diamond of Drury Lane won the Nestle Children's Book Prize 2006 and the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize 2006.