Extremely Pale Rose: A Quest for the Palest Rose in France: A Very French Adventure (The Hungry Student)

Extremely Pale Rose: A Quest for the Palest Rose in France: A Very French Adventure (The Hungry Student)

by JamieIvey (Author)

Synopsis

A chance conversation with a Provencal vigneron leads to the most unlikely of quests - a hunt to find France's palest rose. Extremely Pale Rose is a richly entertaining and informative account of the travels of Jamie, his wife Tanya and their ebullient friend Peter Swift, as they take up this challenge. Giving up their lives in London, they quickly discover an unfortunate truth - the French won't treat rose or their quest seriously. Rose is seen as a poor cousin to red and white wine, drunk largely as an aperitif or to wash away the taste of spicy food. In bars, boulangeries and boucheries from Bordeaux to Bandol, Jamie, Tanya and Peter are recommended diverse vineyards to visit and as they travel they encounter the beginnings of a rose revolution - French attitudes to pale pink wine appear to be changing, but is it too little too late to help them succeed in their quest?

$3.35

Save:$6.25 (65%)

Quantity

1 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 352
Edition: Reprint
Publisher: Phoenix
Published: 04 Apr 2007

ISBN 10: 0753822490
ISBN 13: 9780753822494
Book Overview: Travel book with a difference: an idiosyncratic personal quest to find the palest and best rose wine in France. Promotable young author who will appeal to readers of Chris Stewart's Driving Over Lemons and Annie Hawes' Extra Virgin, and Pete McCarthy's McCarthy's Bar 'Like rose, I found this book light, bright and pleasurable, best tasted in small sips and on a hot summer day' Scotland on Sunday

Author Bio
Formerly a lawyer in London, Jamie Ivey elected to quit commuting and office life for a quest in France instead.