The Edge Chronicles 4: Beyond the Deepwoods: First Book of Twig

The Edge Chronicles 4: Beyond the Deepwoods: First Book of Twig

by Chris Riddell (Author), Chris Riddell (Author), Paul Stewart (Author), Chris Riddell (Author)


Abandoned at birth in the perilous Deepwoods, Twig Verginix is brought up by a family of woodtrolls. One cold night, Twig does what no woodtroll has ever done before - he strays from the path. So begins a heart-stopping adventure that will take Twig through a nightmare world of fearsome goblins, bloodthirsty beasts and flesh-eating trees. Can he discover the truth about his past? Beyond the Deepwoods is the first book of the Twig Saga - second trilogy in The Edge Chronicles, the internationally best-selling fantasy series, which has featured on the UK and the New York Times best-seller lists and sold more than 3 million copies. There are now 13 titles and four trilogies in the series, but each book is a stand-alone adventure, so you can read The Edge Chronicles in any order you choose.


Save:$6.86 (68%)


1 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
Publisher: Corgi Childrens
Published: 30 Jan 2014

ISBN 10: 0552569674
ISBN 13: 9780552569675
Children’s book age: 9-11 Years
Book Overview: The first book of the Twig trilogy, part of the bestselling Edge Chronicles

Media Reviews
At the sharp end of today's fantasy novels * The Times *
Stylishly creepy; at turns gorgeous, humorous, horrifying and awe-inspiring. * Fantasy Book Review *
The narrative will cast a spell over readers from the beginning. * Publishers Weekly *
If you are the kind of person who likes adventures and different types of monsters this is a great book for you! * The Guardian Book Reviews *
The Edge may refer to the part of the world where the story takes place , but it also describes the part of your seat where your child will breathlessly linger. * common sense media *
Author Bio
Paul Stewart (Author) Paul Stewart is a highly regarded author of books for young readers - everything from picture books to football stories, fantasy and horror. Together with Chris Riddell, he is co-creator of the bestselling Edge Chronicles series, which has sold over three million books and is now available in over thirty languages. They are also co-creators of the Far-Flung Adventure series, which includes Fergus Crane, Gold Smarties Prize Winner, Corby Flood and Hugo Pepper, Silver Nestle Prize Winners, and the Barnaby Grimes Series.Chris Riddell (Author) Chris Riddell is an acclaimed artist of children's books and a political cartoonist for the Observer. Amongst other titles, Chris illustrates the Ottoline young fiction series and the Goth Girl series, as well as working closely with Paul Stewart on the Edge Chronicles and Wyrmeweald. Children's Laureate from 2015-2017, he has won many awards for his work, including the Nestle Gold Award, the UNESCO Award for Something Else and the rare honour of three Kate Greenaway Medals.