Extremely Pale Rose: A Quest for the Palest Rose in France

Extremely Pale Rose: A Quest for the Palest Rose in France

by JamieIvey (Author)

Synopsis

A chance conversation with a Provencal vigneron leads to the most unlikely of quests - a hunt to find France's palest rose. Extremely Pale Rose is a richly entertaining and informative account of the travels of Jamie, his wife Tanya and their ebullient friend Peter Swift, as they take up this challenge. Giving up their lives in London, they quickly discover an unfortunate truth - the French won't treat rose or their quest seriously. Rose is seen as a poor cousin to red and white wine, drunk largely as an aperitif or to wash away the taste of spicy food. And although for many Brits pale rose has come to epitomize the south of France, French wine connoisseurs view it as flavourless water fit only for tourists. In bars, boulangeries and boucheries from Bordeaux to Bandol, Jamie, Tanya and Peter are recommended diverse vineyards to visit and as they travel they encounter the beginnings of a rose revolution - French attitudes to pale pink wine appear to be changing, but is it too little too late to help them succeed in their quest? All admirers of Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence and Bon Appetit!, and Carol Drinkwater's Olive Farm series will be absorbed by this book which is anything but a pale imitation.

$3.12

Save:$12.51 (80%)

Quantity

1 in stock

More Information

Format: Hardcover
Pages: 292
Edition: 1st
Publisher: Orion
Published: 13 Jul 2006

ISBN 10: 0297848348
ISBN 13: 9780297848349
Book Overview: Travel book with a difference: an indiosyncratic personal quest to find the palest and best rose wine in France. Promotable young author who will appeal to readers of Chris Stewart's Driving Over Lemons and Annie Hawes' Extra Virgin, and Pete McCarthy's McCarthy's Bar

Media Reviews
Like rose, I found this book, light bright and pleasurable, best tasted in small sips and on a hot summer day' -- William Lyons SCOTLAND ON SUNDAY 'a delightful read for anyone hooked on the food wine and glorious scenery of France.' -- Yvonne Crittenden THE TORONTO SUN
Author Bio
Formerly a lawyer in London, Jamie Ivey elected to quit commuting and office life for a quest in France instead.