The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition

The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition

by RichardDawkins (Author)


The million copy international bestseller, critically acclaimed and translated into over 25 languages. This 30th anniversary edition includes a new introduction from the author as well as the original prefaces and foreword, and extracts from early reviews. As relevant and influential today as when it was first published, The Selfish Gene has become a classic exposition of evolutionary thought. Professor Dawkins articulates a gene's eye view of evolution - a view giving centre stage to these persistent units of information, and in which organisms can be seen as vehicles for their replication. This imaginative, powerful, and stylistically brilliant work not only brought the insights of Neo-Darwinism to a wide audience, but galvanized the biology community, generating much debate and stimulating whole new areas of research.


Save:$2.64 (24%)


Temporarily out of stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 384
Edition: 3
Publisher: OUP Oxford
Published: 16 Mar 2006

ISBN 10: 0199291152
ISBN 13: 9780199291151
Book Overview: Anniversary Edition. Voted 'Author of the Year' at the Galaxy British Book Awards 2007

Media Reviews
Dawkins's first book, The Selfish Gene, was a smash hit... Best of all, Dawkins laid out this biology - some of it truly subtle - in stunningly lucid prose. (It is, in my view, the best work of popular science ever written.) * H. Allen Orr, New York Review of Books *
The Selfish Gene is a classic. * Robin McKie, The Observer *
A genuine cultural landmark of our time. * The Independent *
Review from previous edition The sort of popular science writing that makes the reader feel like a genius. * New York Times *
Author Bio
Richard Dawkins is the first holder of the Charles Simonyi Chair of the Public Understanding of Science at Oxford, Fellow of New College, Oxford, Fellow of the Royal Society, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. His bestselling books include The Extended Phenotype (1982) and its sequel The Blind Watchmaker (1986), River Out of Eden (1995), Climbing Mount Improbable (1996), Unweaving the Rainbow (1998), A Devil's Chaplain (2004) and The Ancestor's Tale (2004). He has won many literary and scientific awards, including the 1987 Royal Society of Literature Award, the 1990 Michael Faraday Award of the Royal Society, the 1994 Nakayama Prize for Human Science, the 1997 International Cosmos Prize, and the Shakespeare Prize in 2005.