Twenty-One Stories

Twenty-One Stories

by Graham Greene (Author)


The stories in this book, all written between 1929 and 1954, all share the themes that feature so strongly in Graham Greene's novels: humour and violence, pity and hatred, betrayal and pursuit. Comic, sad, shocking and tragic, they recount the tales of Mr Maling's loud stomach, destructive gangs of children, indiscretions revealed and secrets uncovered, each one unmistakeably the work of the twentieth century's master storyteller.


Save:$10.89 (76%)


1 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 208
Edition: New e.
Publisher: Vintage Classics
Published: 05 Jul 2001

ISBN 10: 0099286165
ISBN 13: 9780099286165
Book Overview: A celebrated collection of stories from one of the most important British writers of the twentieth century.

Media Reviews
A superb storyteller..he had a talent for depicting local colour, which he gathered at first hand; a keen sense of the dramatic; an eye for dialogue, and skill in pacing his prose - New York Times
One of the most important British writers of the twentieth century * Daily Telegraph *
Greene was a force beyond his books... The outsider, the dissenter, the spoiled priest, the failure, the classic underdog - out of characters such as these Greene made novels and stories which have enriched hundreds of thousands of readers -- Melvyn Bragg
Author Bio
Graham Greene was born in 1904. He worked as a journalist and critic, and in 1940 became literary editor of the Spectator. He was later employed by the Foreign Office. As well as his many novels, Graham Greene wrote several collections of short stories, four travel books, six plays, three books of autobiography, two of biography and four books for children. He also wrote hundreds of essays, and film and book reviews. Graham Greene was a member of the Order of Merit and a Companion of Honour. He died in April 1991.