Travels With My Aunt

Travels With My Aunt

by Graham Greene (Author)


Henry Pulling, a retired bank manager, meets his septuagenarian Aunt Augusta for the first time in over fifty years at what he supposes to be his mother's funeral. Soon after, she persuades Henry to abandon Southwood, his dahlias and the Major next door to travel her way, Brighton, Paris, Istanbul, Paraguay. Through Aunt Augusta, a veteran of Europe's hotel bedrooms, Henry joins a shiftless, twilight society: mixing with hippies, war criminals, CIA men; smoking pot, breaking all the currency regulations and eventually coming alive after a dull suburban life. In Travels with my Aunt Graham Greene not only gives us intoxicating entertainment but also confronts us with some of the most perplexing of human dilemmas.


Save:$8.92 (71%)


4 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 272
Edition: New Ed
Publisher: Vintage Classics
Published: 02 Sep 1999

ISBN 10: 0099282585
ISBN 13: 9780099282587
Book Overview: A witty, inventive read with anyone for a passion for travel.

Media Reviews
Rich in exactly etched and moving portraits of real human beings...the tragic and comic ironies of love, loyalty and belief * The Times *
The most ingenious, inventive and exciting of our novelists - V S Pritchett, The Times
Funny and bizarre... This is a Greene with the lightest touches -- Susan Hill * The Lady *
No serious writer of [the twentith century] has more thoroughly invaded and shaped the public imagination than Graham Greene - Time
Author Bio
Graham Greene was born in 1904. He worked as a journalist and critic, and in 1940 became literary editor of the Spectator. He was later employed by the Foreign Office. As well as his many novels, Graham Greene wrote several collections of short stories, four travel books, six plays, three books of autobiography, two of biography and four books for children. He also wrote hundreds of essays, and film and book reviews. Graham Greene was a member of the Order of Merit and a Companion of Honour. He died in April 1991.