The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (Reading Guide Edition)

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (Reading Guide Edition)

by Mark Haddon (Author)


Christopher is 15 and lives in Swindon with his father. He has Asperger's Syndrome, a form of autism. He is obsessed with maths, science and Sherlock Holmes but finds it hard to understand other people. When he discovers a dead dog on a neighbour's lawn he decides to solve the mystery and write a detective thriller about it. As in all good detective stories, however, the more he unearths, the deeper the mystery gets - for both Christopher and the rest of his family.


Save:$9.05 (74%)


4 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 304
Edition: Limited edition
Publisher: Vintage Classics
Published: 01 Sep 2005

ISBN 10: 0099496933
ISBN 13: 9780099496939
Book Overview: One of 15 limited edition Vintage Future Classics published to celebrate Vintage's 15th birthday. The 15 titles were voted for by reading groups all over the UK as being books that would still be read in 100 years time.

Media Reviews
Wondrous...brilliantly inventive...dazzling. Not simply the most original novel I've read in years - it's also one of the best * The Times *
Exceptional by any standards. Both funny and deeply moving * Sunday Telegraph *
Outstanding. Heartening as well as richly entertaining. A stunningly good read * Independent *
Superbly realised. A funny as well as a sad book. Brilliant * Guardian *
A remarkable book. An impressive achievement and a rewarding read * Time Out *
Author Bio
Mark Haddon is an author, illustrator and screenwriter who has written fifteen books for children and won two BAFTAs. His bestselling novel, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time won seventeen literary prizes, including the Whitbread Award. His poetry collection, The Talking Horse and the Sad Girl and the Village Under the Sea, was published by Picador in 2005, and his last novel, The Red House, was published by Jonathan Cape in 2012. His most recent title is short story collection The Pier Falls. He lives in Oxford.